History of Chateau de Cabidos

Six Centuries of Love

1419

The Heart Begins to Beat!

It was in 1419 that Arnauton Guilhem of Vignau, New Baron of Trubessé, discovered Cabidos and immediately fell in love with its beauty. From these magnificent south-facing slopes, unfolds the magical splendor of the Pyrenees. He was able to transform what was previously a modest looking house into what is today known as The Chateau de Cabidos, and where later, he engraved his arms “A magnificent golden eagle holding in its beak an arrow with silver fletching, the arrowhead pointed high, and standing boldly on the blade of a sword, hilt facing. Crowned by a baronial stamp: a terrifying knight’s helmet with its visor facing head on; the whole supported on either side by two imposing griffons.” The rich and well-drained soil allowed him to grow vines that were turned into white wine of quality, greatly appreciated in the court of Henry V, King of England and Duke of Aquitaine.

1554

A Valiant Heart!

In 1554, the title of Baron de Trubessé was passed to Jacques. He then completed considerable renovations in which he only kept two turrets from the original structure and added a main area more suitable for the lifestyle of a noble family. It is to him that we owe the creation of sweet white wine on the lands of Cabidos. His subjects, in recognition of his great kindness, gave him the nickname of “the good one”. The generations that later followed were divided between working in the vineyards, on the land, in the service of the king, and in the church. They then built the wine cellar to preserve the produce of the vines of Cabidos.

1793

A Heart and Blood!

In 1793, during the terrible Revolution, the Château de Cabidos was pillaged and set on fire by a band of revolutionaries from the plains of Béarn. The Baroness of Cabidos saved the life of her family and the rest of the estate by directing the ‘sans-culottes’ to the cellars where their rage dissipated by drinking all the wine produced in the castle. The torment passed, and the descendants of the family worked to gradually rebuild the castle and its estate, particularly the garden which was built in its present form as well as the Chapel of the Virgin of the Apocalypse inside the castle tower.

1972

In the Heart of the Vineyard!

It was in 1972 that Isabelle, great-granddaughter of Marie-Catherine de Trubessé decided with her husband Count Philippe du Cauzé de Nazelle, to move to this magical place where she had formerly spent most of her childhood vacations.  It took them twenty years to restore the castle and its surroundings and to replant twenty-one acres of vines on the hillside with the local variety, Petit Manseng. Since the first bottling in 1995, nine hectares of vines have been replanted.

In 2002, an air-conditioned winery was built and in 2007, Mrs. Méo Sakorn-Series, became the Maître de Chai and Technical Director. In 2017 Meo was named Knight of The National Order of Merit in recognition of her work and her connoisseur’s knowledge of wine.

2015

The Heart at Work!

It is in 2015 that the Alday family discovered Château de Cabidos. The beautiful and harmonious residence and its walled garden with century-old walls, classified as a historical monument, stands at the end of a long driveway lined with Tuscan-style cypresses.

Passionate about history and a lover of wine, Robert Alday fell for the charm of the castle and its vineyards. The Petit-Manseng grape in its historical terroir, the know-how of the team in place, and the search for excellence, made him want to continue the work which had started six centuries ago in accordance with the motto of Arnauton Guilhem du Vignau “I set forth”.

2018

In Recognition of The Heart!

At the 2018 Decanter World Wine Awards, considered the most influential wine competition in the world, L’Or de Cabidos 2011, an exceptionally intense sweet white wine, earned the Gold Medal with a score of 96/100.

Decanter 2018

  • Gold medal: L’Or de Cabidos 2011 (96 points)
  • Silver medal: Gaston Phœbus Doux 2014 (91 points)
  • Bronze medal:  Les Anesses Doux 2013 (88 points)

Vignerons indépendants 2018

  • Gold medal: Gaston Phoebus 2014

In the International Wine Challenge competition, one of the major international competitions where each year nearly 14,000 wines are presented, Cabidos was also honored with a silver medal and 92 points for its Gaston Phœbus Sec 2014.

These awards, recognizing the know-how and the hard work which has been accomplished, are stepping stones towards the excellence sought by the Alday family for the white wines, both dry and sweet, from the Petit-Manseng grape variety and for the red wine, which is one of France’s most westerly examples of the Syrah grape.

The Cabidos Archives

L’histoire du château

Six siècles de Coups de Cœur

1419

Le cœur en marche !

C’est en 1419 qu’Arnauton Guilhem du Vignau, nouveau Baron de Trubessé, découvre Cabidos et qu’il a pour ce lieu magique un coup de cœur. Depuis ces coteaux, exposés plein sud, se déploie face à lui la chaîne des Pyrénées. La demeure est modeste, il la transformera et en fera le Château de Cabidos, où il apposera ses armes « d’or à l’aigle de sable tenant en son bec une flèche de gueules, empennée d’argent, la pointe en haut, et empiétant une épée de gueules posée en face, la poignée de sable. Avec son timbre de baron : un casque taré de face orné de son bourrelet et lambrequins. Supporté par deux griffons »… La terre est généreuse et bien drainée, il y plantera de la vigne pour y faire un vin blanc de qualité tant apprécié à la cour d’Henri V, Roi d’Angleterre et Duc de l’Aquitaine voisine.

1554

A cœur vaillant !

En 1554 c’est à Jacques que revint le titre de Baron de Trubessé. Il y réalisa d’importants travaux au château dont il ne conserva que deux tourelles et y adjoint un corps de logis plus conforme à la vie d’une noble famille. C’est à lui que nous devons la création du vin blanc liquoreux sur les terres de Cabidos. Ses vassaux en reconnaissance de sa grande bonté le surnommèrent « l’ou gentil » (le gentil). Les générations suivantes se partagèrent entre le travail de la vigne et des terres, le service du roi et celui de l’église. Ils construisirent le chai pour conserver le produit des vignes de Cabidos.

1793

A cœur et à sang !

En 1793, pendant la Terreur de la révolution, le château de Cabidos fut pillé et incendié par une bande de révolutionnaires venue des plaines du Béarn. La Baronne de Cabidos sauva la vie de sa famille et le reste du domaine en dirigeant les sans-culottes vers les chais où leur rage se dissipa en buvant toute la production de vin du château. La tourmente passée les descendants de la famille travaillèrent à relever peu à peu le Château et ses terres. Furent réalisés notamment le jardin dans ses formes actuelles et la chapelle à la Vierge de l’Apocalypse dans la tour du château.

1972

Au cœur de la vigne !

C’est en 1972, qu’Isabelle, arrière-petite-fille de Marie-Catherine de Trubessé décida avec son époux le Comte Philippe du Cauzé de Nazelle, de venir vivre dans ce lieu magique de ses vacances de jeunesse. Vingt ans furent nécessaires pour restaurer le château et ses dépendances et replanter sur le coteau jouxtant le château vingt premiers ares de vigne avec le cépage autochtone, le Petit-Manseng. Depuis la première mise en bouteille en 1995 ce sont neuf hectares de vignes qui ont été replantées.

En 2002, un chai climatisé a été construit et en 2007 Mme Méo Sakorn-Series devient maître de chai et directrice technique. En 2017 Méo sera nommée au rang de chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite en reconnaissance de son travail et de son savoir-faire.

2015

Le cœur à l’ouvrage !

C’est en 2015 que la famille Alday découvre Cabidos. Face à eux, au bout d’une longue allée bordée de cyprès aux allures toscanes, se dresse la superbe et harmonieuse demeure et son jardin clos de murs centenaires classés monument historique.

Passionné d’histoire et amoureux du vin Robert Alday tombe sous le charme du château et de ses vignes. Le cépage Petit-Manseng dans son terroir historique, le savoir-faire de l’équipe en place et la recherche de l’excellence le décident à poursuivre l’œuvre entamée il y a six siècles dans le respect de la devise d’Arnauton Guilhem du Vignau « Je marche ! ».

2018

La reconnaissance du cœur !

Lors du Decanter World Wine Awards 2018, considéré comme le concours de vin le plus influent au monde, L’Or de Cabidos 2011, exceptionnelle cuvée de vin blanc moelleux, a obtenu la Médaille d’or avec une note de 96/100.

Decanter 2018

  • Médaille d’or : L’Or de Cabidos 2011 (96 points)
  • Médaille d’argent : Gaston Phœbus Doux 2014 (91 points)
  • Médaille de bronze : Les Anesses Doux 2013 (88 points)

Vignerons indépendants 2018

  • Médaille d’or : Gaston Phoebus 2014

Présent aussi au concours International Wine Challenge l’une des compétitions internationales majeures du circuit où chaque année près de 14 000 vins sont présentés, Cabidos a aussi été honoré avec une médaille d’argent et 92 points pour son Gaston Phœbus Sec 2014.

Ces récompenses, reconnaissances du savoir-faire et du travail accompli, ne sont qu’une étape vers l’excellence recherchée par la famille Alday pour ces vins blancs, sec et doux, en cépage Petit-Manseng et son vin rouge, le plus occidental du cépage Syrha.

Les archives de Cabidos